Virgil van Dijk pips Messi, Ronaldo to win UEFA Men’s Player of the Year 2018/19 Award

Liverpool FC defender Virgil van Dijk has won the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

He won this over Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona’s Lionel Messi.

He becomes the first defender and Dutch player to win this award. He also becomes the first Liverpool and Premier League player to win this since Steven Gerard won it in 2005.

He also won the Defender of the Season 2018/19 award.

Van Dijk, in his acceptance speech hailed praises on his teammates for helping him attain such a remarkable feat in the past season.

“I need to thank all my teammates, without them I would not achieve what I have achieved,” he said.

Virgil van Dijk’s 2018/19 Awards and Trophies:
1. UEFA Champions League
2. UEFA Super Cup
3. UEFA Men’s Best Player award
4. PFA Player of the Year
5. Liverpool Fans’ Player of the Year
6. Liverpool Players’ Player of the Year
7. Premier League Team of the Season
8. Champions League Team of the Season

In a related development, Ajax’s Frenkie De Jong also won the Midfielder of the Season 2018/19 while Lionel Messi also won the Forward of the Season 2018/19 award. Liverpool’s Alisson Becker also won the Goalkeeper of the Season 2018/19.

Source: Yaw Sarpong |

Do you have song(s) to promote, sponsored articles, exclusive stories you want our cherished readers to know about? Get in touch via,

Latest Ghana News, Entertainment, Business, Sports, Technology | Celebrity Gossip, Music, Movies, Dance, Fashion, Events and more from Ghana, Africa, and the World

Related Articles

Back to top button