Ghana Music Awards 'Artiste of the Year' Winners Since Its Inception

Ghana Music Awards ‘Artiste of the Year’ Winners

The ‘Artiste of the Year’ is the topmost award at the Ghana Music Awards. It is awarded to the artiste(s) adjudged by the Academy, Board and the general public as having the highest audience appeal and popularity.

One rule in this category is, an artiste must have released a hit single/album during the year under review to qualify for a nomination.
Since the beginning of the award ceremony in 2000, it is also Sarkodie and VVIP (then VIP) who have won it on two (2) occasions. However, none has won it in succession.

Some of the winners in this prestigious category include Daddy Lumba, Okyeame Kwame, Shatta Wale, Samini, Lord Kenya and others.

Ebony became the first female musician to win the covetous ‘Artiste of the Year’ award. She also won this posthumously.

Check the full list of the Ghana Music Awards ‘Artiste of the Year’ winners since its inception below:

2000: Daddy Lumba
2001: Kojo Antwi
2002: Lord Kenya
2003: Kontihene
2004: V.I.P (now VVIP)
2005: Bice Osei Kuffour
2006: Ofori Amponsah
2007: Samini
2008: Kwaw Kese
2009: Okyeame Kwame
2010: Sarkodie
2011: V.I.P (now VVIP)
2012: Sarkodie
2013: R2Bees
2014: Shatta Wale
2015: Stonebwoy
2016: E.L
2017: Joe Mettle
2018: Ebony

NB: This post is updated every year.

Source: Yaw Sarpong |


Do you have song(s) to promote, sponsored articles, exclusive stories you want our cherished readers to know about? Get in touch via,, call or WhatsApp +233244814761.

Latest Ghana News, Entertainment, Business, Sports, Technology | Celebrity Gossip, Music, Movies, Dance, Fashion, Events and more from Ghana, Africa, and the World

Related Articles

Back to top button